UMN Entomology winners at NCB ESA!

April 05, 2024

The recent NCB-ESA meeting in Fort Collins, CO, was an exciting one for UMN Entomology! Faculty, students and an alumna were selected for NCB branch awards and student competition prizes.

Branch award winners:
  • Dr. William (Bill) Hutchison - Legacy Contribution Award
  • Dr. Elaine Evans - Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension
  • Dr. Hailey Shanovich - John Henry Comstock Award
  • Dr. Deborah (Deb) McCullough - Award of Excellence in Integrated Pest Management. Deb, a PhD alum of the department, is a Professor at Michigan State University)
Student Competition winners:
  • Ellen Owusu Adjeiwaa - Third Place, Paper Session II 
  • Pheylan Anderson - Third Place  Paper Session III


  • Matt Gullickson - First Place - PhD Paper Session - III 
  • Sabrina Celis - Second Place PhD Paper Session- III 
  • Sarah Lisak - Third Place PhD Paper Session IV


Also, the UMN team (Megan Jones, Maya Vellicolungara, Sarah Lisak, Sabrina Celis - Pheylan Anderson was the alternate) did an excellent job in the Entomology Games; the team won the first round and missed the second by just 10 points! Good Job! 

Congrats to all!